What can the Tesla Optimus robot actually do today?

The strongest autonomy claim Tesla has ever attached to a specific Optimus demo is from September 24, 2023 and it is about sorting colored blocks; on January 28, 2026 Musk said Optimus was "still in the R&D phase" and not in use in Tesla's factories "in a material way."
The strongest autonomy claim Tesla has ever published about a specific Optimus robot demonstration is one sentence long, sits under a video from September 24, 2023, and reads: "Optimus can now sort objects autonomously." The objects were colored blocks. That clip is almost three years old.
The Optimus demonstrations that anyone has checked closely since then have come back with a human in the loop. Tesla confirmed one of those itself. And on January 28, 2026, on the Q4 2025 earnings call, Musk said the program was "still very much at the early stages" and that the robots were "not in usage in our factories in a material way" (Electrek).
The answer to what Optimus can do therefore has two halves: what it has been shown doing, and who was moving it at the time. Here is the log.
The demo log, with the driver named
| Date | What was shown | Who or what was driving |
|---|---|---|
| Aug 19, 2021 | Tesla Bot announced at AI Day | A person in a bodysuit, dancing. No robot existed |
| Sep 2022 | Semi-functional prototypes at AI Day 2: one walked onstage, one waved | A stage demo with no task attached |
| Sep 24, 2023 | Tesla Bot Update: Sort & Stretch: sorting colored blocks, holding a yoga pose | Tesla's own description: "Optimus can now sort objects autonomously. Its neural network is trained fully end-to-end: video in, controls out" |
| Dec 13, 2023 | Optimus Gen 2: faster walking, articulated neck, handling an egg, dancing | Tesla's description claims hardware ("Tesla-designed actuators and sensors, faster and more capable hands") and says nothing about control |
| Jan 15, 2024 | Folding a t-shirt | Musk, same day: "Optimus cannot yet do this autonomously" (@elonmusk) |
| May 2024 | Factory-task videos | Critics noted teleoperation (Wikipedia) |
| Jun 2024 | No demo. Tesla says two Optimus units are performing tasks in its factory autonomously | A company claim, contradicted by Musk in January 2026 |
| Oct 10, 2024 | "We, Robot": units mingle with guests and tend bar | Walking was unassisted; the interactions were overseen by remote employees. One bot told a guest it was "assisted by a human" (TechCrunch) |
| Nov 29, 2024 | Upgraded hand, 22 degrees of freedom in the hand plus three in the wrist and forearm | Tesla confirmed the demo was teleoperated (Electrek) |
| Jul 21, 2025 | Serving popcorn at the Tesla Diner opening in Hollywood | Not stated by Tesla (The Independent) |
| Dec 2025 | Miami event: a headset-removal motion, then a backward collapse | Read as a teleoperator disconnecting badly (Teslarati) |
| Dec 2025 | v2.3 in London ( |
Not stated by Tesla |
| Jul 22, 2026 | Q2 2026 call: Musk says Optimus "moved into production this quarter" at Fremont | No demonstration attached |
The two things Tesla has conceded itself
Most teleoperation findings about Optimus come from reporters and analysts. Two came from Tesla.
The first was the hand. On November 29, 2024 Tesla showed a new Optimus hand described as tendon-driven like a human one, with 22 degrees of freedom in the hand and three more in the wrist and forearm, and this time said up front that the demonstration was teleoperated. That disclosure landed seven weeks after the October event, where the remote oversight had not been stated at all.
The second was bigger. In June 2024, Tesla said two Optimus units were performing tasks in its factory autonomously. In January 2025 Musk said he was confident several thousand robots would be doing useful things by the end of that year. Then came the January 28, 2026 call and the phrase "not in usage in our factories in a material way." Read in order, those three statements describe a capability that was announced, scaled up rhetorically, and then withdrawn. The full slippage record is in Elon Musk's robot claims: the dated archive.
Miami, December 2025
The most instructive Optimus clip of the last two years is not a capability video. At a Tesla event in Miami in early December 2025, an Optimus unit performed a motion that looked like removing a headset, then collapsed backward. Teslarati's reading, published December 8, 2025, was that whoever was controlling the robot "did not disconnect their ability to manipulate its movements, then left the controls," and that a correctly disconnected robot "would have likely just stood there and waited for controls to resume."
Tesla has not published an explanation, so treat the mechanism as one outlet's inference. Bipeds fall for many reasons, and I would not read a single fall as a verdict on the hardware. What the clip does establish is that a public-facing Optimus at a Tesla event in late 2025 had a live human control link attached to it.
What Tesla says now, and what its supplier said five days later
On the July 22, 2026 earnings call, Musk described the category as empty and Optimus as the thing that will fill it: "There is no humanoid robot that is actually able to do generalized tasks. Optimus will be the first one that is capable of doing that." VP of AI Ashok Elluswamy described the training method as learning from watching people, saying Optimus "can learn quite a bit from observing them perform their tasks." Musk's line about the competition on the same call: "Those demonstrations are pre-programmed or remote controlled" (PYMNTS).
Note the tense in the first quote. Will be, not is.
Five days later, on July 27, 2026, Virtuix announced that Tesla's Optimus division was the first enterprise customer for its Omni One system, a full-body VR platform the company says supports "the teleoperation of humanoid robots, allowing humans to remotely control robots in real time" (press release). Tesla did not comment in that announcement, and buying teleoperation rigs is not a contradiction: driving a robot by hand is how you generate the demonstration data that teaches it to drive itself. That mechanism, and why it means early units come with an operator, is unpacked in how autonomous are humanoid robots, really.
The specs Tesla has published, and the ones it has not
Published, for the generations Tesla has actually shown: 5 ft 8 in (173 cm), 125 lb (57 kg), 45 lb (20 kg) carrying capacity, hands that went from 11 degrees of freedom in 2023 to 22 in 2024, and linear actuators built on planetary roller screws rather than ball screws for shock resistance while walking. All of that is collected on Optimus's Wikipedia entry.
Not published anywhere I can find: battery capacity, runtime on a charge, walking speed, a success rate for any task, a cumulative build count, or a spec sheet for the generation now going down the Fremont line. On the April 22, 2026 call Musk pushed the V3 reveal to later in 2026 and said the production rate this year was "literally impossible to predict," citing 10,000 unique parts on a brand-new line (Electrek). Compare that with a competitor that publishes run lengths and build counts in Figure vs Tesla Optimus.
The nearest thing to a power number in the whole record is a reply Musk posted on November 15, 2025, and it is about AI5, Tesla's inference chip, rather than the robot: the draw could come "closer to 250 Watts," which he called "a big deal for Optimus." A forecast, for a component, in a reply to somebody.
Musk says Tesla can bring AI5 power consumption down closer to 250 Watts, and calls that a big deal for Optimus. (@elonmusk, 2025-11-15)
There is also no price and no order channel. Our Optimus tracker entry records the $20,000 to $30,000 figure as a stated target from October 2024, not as a price, because nothing has ever been sold at it.
Four questions for the next Optimus clip
- Did Tesla state the control method? If the post says nothing, nothing is being claimed.
- Is the robot doing a task, or greeting people? Popcorn and photographs are hospitality staffing, not capability.
- Is there a number attached? A duration, an attempt count, a success rate. Three years of Optimus footage has produced almost none.
- Has anyone outside Tesla timed it? No independent party has yet published a measured, unbroken Optimus task run.
That last one is the gap that matters most. The chore-by-chore version of the same audit across every maker is in the verified record on household chores, and Optimus appears in it exactly once, next to Musk's own admission about the shirt.
Line the whole log up and Tesla's high-water mark for its own language about a named Optimus demo remains that one sentence from September 2023 about sorting blocks. It went up before Gen 2 was announced, before the hand demo, before We, Robot, before the diner and before there was a Fremont line to build robots on. Nothing Tesla has published about a specific demonstration since has claimed as much.
One email when something actually changes: a delivery verified, a price cut, a robot discontinued. No weekly filler, unsubscribe whenever.